Sport Tayside & Fife
Contact Us
Sport Tayside & Fife
Lynch Sports Centre
South Road

To strengthen the infrastructure of sport in Tayside & Fife, to bring sustainable increases in participation and performance for our developing athletes.



The ScottishPower National Young Athletes Road Race Championships took place in Perth on Sunday March 25th, with a record entry.

There were some particular successes for local athletes, most notably in the Under 13 girls’ race which kicked off proceedings with the largest field of the day.

Only three seconds separated the first three runners as recently crowned Scottish Schools cross country champion Alice Haining (Gala Harriers) survived a late challenge to take the title in 8.24 ahead of local athlete Rachel Adamson (Central AC) in 2nd and Iona Brodie (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers) in 3rd. Fife AC, with three athletes in the top 20, secured the team prize and there was further local success as Dundee Hawkhill Harriers grabbed the bronze medals.

Grant Muir (Giffnock North AC), 3rd in the School's cross country and one of the pre-race favourites, finished over 10 seconds clear of 2nd placed Michael Rankin (Ron Hill Cambuslang) in 7.26 and led Giffnock North to the team honours, with Sandy Nimmo and Drew Hollinshead the additional points scoring athletes.

Tom Watson (Central AC), 2nd in the National Cross Country Championships, took 3rd, his team placing 2nd overall.

Sarah Kelly (Fife AC), Schools cross country champion in Irvine, had led the girls under-15 race for three-quarters of the 4.8km course before losing out to Eleanor Duncan (Forres Harriers), who stormed home in 16.46, and runner-up Hollie Young (City of Glasgow). Kelly's Fife AC took team bronze, the title going to Edinburgh Southern Harriers.

Robbie Simpson (Banchory and Stonehaven) took the under-15 boy's title in 15.31 as he finished 6 seconds clear of Shettleston Harriers pair Andrew Dearie and Gary McBride, who finished in 2nd and 3rd place respectively. The Glasgow duo ensured Shettleston the team title, with Lachlan Oates the final points scoring athlete in 6th.

Sisters Sarah and Mhairi Inglis (both Lothian RC) were 1st and 3rd respectively in the women's under-17 race, the former clocking 17.02 to take the title. Natalie Sharp (Kilbarchan AAC), finished 2nd, only 4 seconds behind the winner, and with the satisfaction of leading her team to the title honours.

Central AC dominated the men's under-17 event, Sean Reilly finishing in 14.28 as champion, followed home by Matthew Graham (Kirkintilloch Olympians) and Chris O'Hare (City of Edinburgh), the latter two finishing in reverse of their positions in Irvine, where O'Hare took the title. Scott McDonald (4th) and Alexander Hendry (7th) ensured Central went home with the team prize.

In the 7.2km under-20 Championships, Cara Sloss (Kilbarchan AAC) and Darren Shinnie (Aberdeen AAC) took the titles.

For full results please go to:

Web design, development, and hosting by MTC Media.